Transitioning to medium hive boxes

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by heinleinfan, Sep 26, 2013.

1. heinleinfan

heinleinfan New Member

My forum search fu is failing me today.

I have been considering for a couple years of moving to keeping in all medium boxes. I cannot lift a deep even about half full now (I'm far too young to have a bad back, dangit) and there's the savings on having all the same size frames/boxes, etc. I'm looking for some opinions from you all. I should have done this with all new package installs I had to do this spring, but life and stuff prevented it.

1. Overwintering here in a cold area; what would the population difference be for 2 mediums vs. 2 deeps do you figure, in a full hive? And I'm guessing a good enough population and stores could overwinter 3 mediums, I mean, people overwinter 3 deeps...what do you all think?

2. How, exactly, would I transition the bees into medium frames? I'm thinking...get the deeps over (or under?) the mediums and get the queen into the medium somehow, put on an excluder and they'll move on down to her majesty? Could I transition slowly over summer by putting medium frames into the deep boxes for them to build out, and just be diligent about managing burr comb? Could I...rig up some type of spacer onto the bottom of a medium frame so there wouldn't be burr comb there?

Obviously this will be in spring, but we're planning winter budgets in the next month, so planning has to happen now if we're going to do this.

Thanks for input!

2. Crofter

Crofter New Member