Unlimited Brood Nest

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by clinch, Mar 29, 2012.

1. clinch

clinch New Member

I apologize if this topic has been discussed before. I tried searching but I only know how to refer to this concept as "Unlimited Broodnest" and there are no results for that.

Basically I'm wondering if anyone here keeps bees without a queen excluder in standard Langstroth hives? The concept of unlimited brood nest is not very complex. It simply means that the queen is allowed to go where she wants within the hive.

For anyone trying to maximize honey production, this is probably not a great strategy, but I'm quite interested in this concept because my goals right now are to develop the strongest colony possible.

This is my first year beekeeping and I currently only have a single deep box. I need to purchase more. Using the concept of unlimited brood nest, how many deep boxes should I be purchasing? What other things should I consider? Are there other cons I'm not considering when not having a queen excluder?

2. Crofter

Crofter New Member

I would say get some more boxes and frames quickly. Once the flow starts (which shouldnt be long in your area) they will start to prepare for swarming if they are cramped for space in the least. If you have only foundation, not drawn comb, you may find the bees a bit reluctant to draw out new comb in honey supers. We had them start to fill the brood space with nectar last year and took the queen excluders off. They went to work then putting the nectar up top. We only got a few frames that the queen layed a small patch of brood in before they chased her back down. After that hatched they filled it with honey.

You need bees to make honey; later in the season you can do things to limit the queens laying if you want the workers to concentrate on honey.