Varroa Mites

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Gator_56, Mar 15, 2013.

1. Gator_56

Gator_56 New Member

This is my first year of having a hive and I have Russian bees. Actually Russian cross queen from Kelly Bee company. It was my understanding that Russians were less apt to have Vorroa mite problems. Up until now I have never noticed any mites, however this last inspection I found some larva in the burr comb built between two boxes.

Is there an "acceptable amount" that can be in the hive or should I be worried and start to do something about it?

2. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

Did you see mites on the larvae?
    Depending on how you chose to do mite counts the level of acceptability varies.
    Doing a 24 hour natural drop has 1 level (actually one for spring and a different level for fall)
    Alcohol wash had another count number.
    Sugar roll yet another.

3. Gator_56

Gator_56 New Member

I did see mites on the larvae. Little brown tick looking things.

4. Omie

Omie New Member

Most burr comb in the Spring consists of drone brood. Mites prefer to breed on drone larvae, since the drone larvae take longer to mature, allowing the mite cycle to complete fully. All hives have some varroa mites, except for some isolated areas.

I'm confused when you say this is your first year with bees- when was this hive started?
    Most new nucs and packages will not have high mite populations during their first 6 months or so.
    Did you start this hive in the Spring of 2012?

5. Crofter

Crofter New Member

If you are seeing mites on drone brood you probably should deliberately uncap some more to get an idea what percentage have mites and also how many seem to have multiple mites. Most important is to know how badly the worker brood is being infested.