Wasps that are not yellowjackets

Discussion in 'Pests and Diseases' started by patricium, Jul 31, 2010.

1. patricium

patricium New Member

Absolute pre-bee beginner here. I plan to get a couple of beehives in the spring, so am doing all the learning I can now. We live in a rural area, and have a lot of wasps around our house. They are not yellowjackets, but are mostly paper wasps, with a few black-faced wasps. I've been looking to see what sort of problems we might expect with robbing or attacking of the hives, and mostly people talk about yellowjackets. For the purposes of beekeeping, are all wasps equivalent, or are yellowjackets more aggressive? Should I start working on population control now, before we get the hives?

Thanks for any thoughts you might have!

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Welcome to the forum, and the world of beekeeping. Wasps are no problem with bees, unless they build a nest on the bottom of the hive and sting you when you get near. Or something similar. :D

They won't hurt the bees. Yellow Jackets may get a couple of bees a year, but are not enough to worry about. There are many more damaging things to take up your attention in beekeeping than wasps or yellow jackets.

3. Walt B

Walt B Active Member

Patricium,

I live in the bug capital of the universe...when I moved here from NYS I was told that "Texas has every kind of bug ever made". I'd be hard pressed to argue. :D

We have yellow jackets all over the place. They seem to build nests in the barn and shed as quickly as we can remove them. Still, no problem with our bees.

Walt

4. G3farms

G3farms New Member

Yellow jackets are aggressive and will sure enough come after you.

5. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

the terms yellow jackets and wasp can vary greatly by location and is therefore not totally descriptive.