Wax foundations bowed in frames

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by clinch, Jan 15, 2012.

1. clinch

clinch New Member

Hello everyone! This is my first post on the forums and actually my first time here. I am a beginner beekeeper and I'm just assembling my first box and frames using wired (vertically) wax foundations.

Anyway, I've assembled 2 frames so far, being extremely careful to check for squareness along the way. When I place the wax foundation within the assembled frame, it's slightly bowed because the foundation is slightly taller than the space in the frame. It's not extremely bowed, but it's noticeable.

On the first frame, I actually trimmed off about 1/8" to make it fit, but I'm wondering if it's necessary to do it for all of them?

Thank you!

2. Marbees

Marbees Member

Welcome to the Forums Clinch, you will see there are other canadian beekeepers around. :wave:
    I also trimmed my first 200 frames then switched to plastic Mann Lake frames, more convenient.
    It's not necessary to do that, it's just foundation, when you cross wire them and bees build comb those frames will be straight and strong for many years. Good luck :thumbsup:

3. Iddee

Iddee New Member

It sounds like you bought grooved bottom frames instead of split bottom. In the future, buy split bottom frames and you won't have that problem. For these frames, if you have a table saw, set the blade at about "6 to 8mm" 1/4 to 3/8 in. above the table and open the bottoms of the frames the width of the saw blade. Cross wiring them will help a lot.

4. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

"Split bottom frames"?
    I ended up with what I think you are referring to a long time ago when I got my first nucs. I didn't think they still made those anymore. I figured that they were made to slide your foundation in from the bottom? They always seemed weaker there.

Oh, and Welcome to the forum Clinch. :hi:

5. Iddee

Iddee New Member