Wax Moths

Discussion in 'Pests and Diseases' started by cromag, Mar 9, 2016.

1. cromag

cromag New Member

I live in Ohio with crazy weather. Im in the country with plenty for my bees to feed on. Last summer wax moths took over and destroyed both of my hives. In the process of cleaning up frames and boxes in hopes of new swarms this spring. What can i do to help prevent another wax moth infestation?

2. danl

danl New Member

Wax moths usually come in after the hive is weak. Strong hives is your best defense.

3. cromag

cromag New Member

I had the bees for two seasons so im still new to beekeeping. Any steps i should take after my hive swarms in the spring?

4. danl

danl New Member

Feed them if they will take it. Good ventilation helps too.

5. Gypsi

Gypsi Super Moderator Staff Member

Sun helps, and to protect comb, in winter spray it with BT Azawai (Bacillus Thureinsis -spelling is wrong though)

6. cromag

cromag New Member

Thanks for the tips!

7. Ray

Ray Member

I don't understand. What do you mean my swarms. Swarming severely weakens the hives that cast a swarm. Do you mean; you are going to capture some swarms and put them in your empty hives?
    Placing the frames with comb in a freezer will kill the eggs and larva of the wax moth. Let them warm before using, however.

8. cromag

cromag New Member

When my first hive swarmed i capture that swarm to start my second hive. Then the second hive swarmed last spring. Im still in the learning phase and the wax moths were a hard lesson. They destroyed all the comb and foundation. The bees are gone. How can i prevent swarming?

9. Gypsi

Gypsi Super Moderator Staff Member