What Happened????

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Hog Wild, Dec 22, 2010.

1. Hog Wild

Hog Wild New Member

I am a newbie with 5 hives that I started this year, one of which was doing great - that was until I peeked inside this past weekend!
    I have top feeders on all of my hives and being the first year wanted to insure that they had plenty of food going into the Winter. I started feeding them about 3 weeks ago, it has been unseasonable cold here so I wanted to cover all my bases. A couple of weeks ago I went to top up their sugar water and noticed that in my strongest hive there were about 10 - 15 dead bee's in the entrance to the top feeder which I thought was unusual compared to the other 4. It was too cold to open up so I just topped up with the intentions of checking on them on a warmer day. Well, I went to empty out the dead/refill this past Saturday and when I removed the feeder I did not see or hear any activity so I kept digging. There was approximately 40 dead bee's on the bottom board and none left in the hive. Not a single live bee and no dead queen out of the 40 casualties.
    They left behind 40 lbs of honey and just disappeared!! Did I do something to make them swarm? Do they swarm in these cold of temps (teens- 30's at night and 30's to 40's during the day). Checked on my other hives and they were buzzing right along....Again this was my strongest hive?

Merry Christmas to Me!

Thanks,
    Dave Bradley

2. DCoates

DCoates New Member

When was the last time you inspected them? Was there anything that was different from the other hives?

3. Iddee

Iddee New Member