what temperatures can bees handle?

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by pistolpete, Mar 8, 2013.

1. pistolpete

pistolpete New Member

OK, here we go again: feeling like a total Newb and wondering if I'm harming my bees. here's the situation: Last fall I had a few frames with lost of pollen in them. Since the foundation was sagging anyway I cut the areas of comb with pollen out and stuffed them in a Ziploc that has been in the freezer since. A couple of days ago I put a 6" super above my inner cover and shoved this 6 or 7 pound glob of honey, pollen, and wax in there. Then I placed my insulated lid on top of that. This morning I wanted to check that the honey was not running all over the place and causing havoc, so I had a quick peak into the super. The glob was completely covered with bees. They were not moving very much, just kind of crawling around slowly. I closed things up pretty quick, so I don't know exactly what is going on in there.

Here's my concern. The overnight temperature is below freezing. It seems to me that is much too cold for the bees to be out of the main cluster. Do I need to take the food away until things warm up. If so, how do I get a coating of bees off of a ball of goo?

2. Crofter

Crofter New Member

It would be interesting to stick a thermometer down in where the bees are. I would bet there is enough solar gain plus the bees body heat that they are warm enough to crawl around and feed.(40F). Seems I have read they need a body temperature around 54 F to fly though; They can make short sorties around freezing temps, but have to go back in the hangar for wing deicing! I think your bees are happy!

3. Lburou

Lburou Member