where is she?

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by babnik, May 10, 2012.

1. babnik

babnik New Member

I'm in my second year of beekeeping and between myself and my neighbour, we have 10 hives. In those 14 months or so we have only ever managed to find 1 queen. This was only because the hive in question is very weak and the population is way down. I'm beginning to dispair of ever finding the others. Without finding the queen, we just have too many questions unanswered. For example today we opened a hive which was full of bees, but had very little capped brood (1 frame, and very sporadic at that), no eggs but a lot of stores in the hive body. I'm pretty sure she's queen less, but its always a guessing game. I don't think she's swarmed as there are too many bees, but perhaps she has and there is a young queen that hasn't started laying yet. I'd love to requeen this hive, but unless I can find a queen or prove there is no queen, introducing another queen seems like a bit haphazard. What I did do was put in a frame of eggs and brood from another hive. This other hive definitely has a queen, as there were a lot of eggs and brood, but we couldn't find her. There's just too many bees. Id also love to do a few splits, but unless I can find a queen, again its all a little difficult. How am I going to find her?

2. riverrat

riverrat New Member

good call on putting a frame of eggs in the hive. Im guessing the hive either swarmed or the queen may have been accidently killed in another inspection.

3. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Check the frame of eggs in 5 to 8 days. If it has queen cells, the queen is gone, but they will make a new one. If no queen cells, the queen is there.

Split the hive the way you want and be sure there is a frame of eggs in each box. You don't need to find the queen. Check all splits in 5 to 8 days and the one with eggs has the queen. The others should have queen cells.

You can find her easier in the one box if you really want to find her.