Where to place my hive?

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by beelover, Dec 14, 2011.

1. beelover

beelover New Member

I'll be setting up my first hive soon. I've heard to put it in the sun, I've heard to put it in the shade. I'm confused and need help. I do know it should face the morning sun. It gets very hot here in the summer - 90's - 100+. Heat index over 100 on some days. I have a lot of pine trees. Should the hive be placed under the pines or out in the direct sun? Does it have to have the sun shining on it most of the day? Any help will be appreciated!

Newbie here.

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Until the small hive beetle was brought to the US, it was recommended to have morning sun and afternoon shade. Since the arrival of shb, it has been found that they do much better in full sun. The bees will make it either way, but the shb love shade. Therefore, if you have shb in your area, full sun. Otherwise, morning sun and afternoon shade is best, but not mandatory.

PS. Access to water is mandatory.

3. gunsmith

gunsmith New Member

Welcome to the forum. The best location is with the entrance facing south or east, where they will have full sun in the morning and dappled sun in the afternoon.
    Get into the members section here, and look up Mama Beek. She's in your neighborhood.
    Good luck.

4. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

beelover:
    :hi:
    You have found a great resource of information just by finding this forum. :mrgreen:
    Very friendly here and answers to questions are quick to come.
    NC seems to be a hotbed for beekeepers and there are some very knowledgable ones on this forum. Even one of the site admins (Iddee) knows a little about bees. :lol:

http://www.guilfordbeekeepers.org/

5. ShaneVBS

ShaneVBS New Member