Winter losses in New England.

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by camero7, Mar 11, 2017.

1. camero7

camero7 Member

Lots of us are experiencing winter losses of abnormal size. I'm losing around 40% but it's spotty. One yard completely dead [20+] hives, another completely alive another at 50% loss.

Here's a post from the finger lakes forum:

"Hi everyone,It is hard to lose bees, even when you think you?did everything right like treating and feeding.

If it makes you feel any better, a majority of commercial and sideline beekeepers in NY and MA?lost huge amounts of colonies. One who runs 5000 had 1500 last count. OUCH!I run 900 and am down to about 250. Lost 50% by thanksgiving. Its?very humbling.?I make my living from honey production and take very good care of the bees, treating and feeding etc. I guess I need to step it up a notch. Will buy a combo of nucs and packages and split whats left to get all the equipment full again. Not a business or hobby ?for the faint of pocketbook. Need to set aside $ in the good years to make up for the bad years that come every so often. Just like clockwork.

What is strange is that I have some locations that are fine, with normal losses and good looking bees and some locations that have 1 left out of 44. Cannot blame big ag or any other factor at this time.

As Shelley noted, maybe ?the drought stressed the bees. ?Maybe the pollen was low nutrient that was gathered or the quantity was insufficient. Maybe out mite treatments didn't work as well as they should have. Mites spread the viruses to our bees that were not quite as healthy and fat as they could have been, Maybe there is a new virus out there that takes them down faster-like DWV-B. Cornell? and David Wicks Co. are?not able to test for this one yet.

. Feeding pollen sub in summer and fall seemed to help. 1 commercial?beek only had 7% loss after he fed sub in the summer to boost his bees.