Winter plans

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by BjornBee, Oct 6, 2009.

1. BjornBee

BjornBee New Member

Anybody have a winter project? Expanding, building, something to occupy your beekeeping "habit"?

I'll be building a bee vac, which I really need.

Anyone else? :drinks:

2. Hobie

Hobie New Member

I recommend checking out iddee's design for a bee vac. Works well, and even *I* could make it!

3. TwT

TwT New Member

I will be building more hives and nuc's, putting frames together getting ready for the spring.

4. Bens-Bees

Bens-Bees New Member

Just building a new hive... 8 frame, charred interior, insulated, and decorated exterior... just to play with and experiment with.

5. Omie

Omie New Member

Well I am new to beekeeping...I don't even have bees yet. :cry:
    Likely I'll be getting my bees in the Spring...I am planning two hives in my back yard.
    My autumn/winter activity plans are consisting of reading and talking and observing (I've also been visiting other recreational beekeepers and seeing their setups)....then also I'll soon be ordering my two hives and equipment (I'd like to get them painted this Fall- much better painting weather here).

Yesterday we laid down a whole area of mulch and stone in back of my garden, so we'd have a nice out-of-the-way spot ready for the hives, where my husband would not have to mow at all within 8-10 feet of the hives all around. It's a good spot I think, with the hives facing sun from mid-morning to dusk, yet it's pretty hidden from any neighbors' sight, is protected from winter winds, and has a good flight path with no human traffic. It's the best I can do on our little 1/3 acre lot. Took us DAYS to determine the best place, trying to balance all the placement factors. :(

6. alleyyooper

alleyyooper New Member

Build more shallow frames, Build more shallow honey supers, build more screen bottom boards, more inter covers and outer covers maybe even a few deeps.

Take walks with the dogs,
    [​IMG]