Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
So we live in Upstate New York. We have been keeping bees for 5 years. Last year one hive wintered over, was very honey productive last summer and fall and so far it looks like they may winter over again.
We had an unusually warm day, ( 65 degrees) last week so we opened to look in and offer more winter feed. They were extremely busy and active inside.
My question is, if they make it to spring and go into summer can we and should we change out some of the frames in their box. They are going into their 3rd year. We want to give them fresh frames.
Any advice will be appreciated. Not many beekeepers near us.
Thank you.
Patricia

·
Registered
90 Posts
Forgive me but I will take a shot at this as I am only in my first year of beekeeping. I am thinking that there is no need to give them new frames as I am of the thought that they will recondition the old frames for their needs. The old frames have the good smells on them that they like.However,if the old frames are falling apart then that is something to consider too.

Reactions: Gypsi

·
Registered
19 Posts
Hello,
So we live in Upstate New York. We have been keeping bees for 5 years. Last year one hive wintered over, was very honey productive last summer and fall and so far it looks like they may winter over again.
We had an unusually warm day, ( 65 degrees) last week so we opened to look in and offer more winter feed. They were extremely busy and active inside.
My question is, if they make it to spring and go into summer can we and should we change out some of the frames in their box. They are going into their 3rd year. We want to give them fresh frames.
Any advice will be appreciated. Not many beekeepers near us.
Thank you.
Patricia