Winterizing and feeding

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by bergfarm, Sep 25, 2013.

1. bergfarm

bergfarm New Member

Hi. I am a beginner bee keeper. This is my first winter in pa. I am afraid my hive doesn't have enough honey storage for the winter. What can i put in as extra food for the winter? Also when should i winterize the hive? I have seen so many different ways to do it. I was just wondering what is the best way for here in pa? Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

3. riverrat

riverrat New Member

If they are light it is still not to late to Feed 2:1 syrup

4. camero7

camero7 Member

You can probably feed 2:1 syrup for another month. I have it on many of my light nucs and they are taking it down quite well.

5. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

if you are actually asking for best then either fondant (as Perry bee suggest above..... although he certainly startled me with his picture with no facial hair) or candy boards <essentially both are inverted sugar and have little to almost no water which are both LARGE advantages as we go into the wintertime.

6. bergfarm

bergfarm New Member

Thanks for all of your responses. I switched to the 2 parts sugar 1 part water. I was feeding 1 part sugar to 1 part water since i got the nuc in july. I filled it up today. They have 3 supers on. They are working on 3 of the 8 filling them with honey on the 3rd super. What do you recommend for winterizing? I noticed some people wrap there hives in tar paper & put cedar pet bedding in a top empty super for varroa mites & condensation? Does anyone do this? When do i close it up for the winter? This is the first winter i have them and want to make sure they make it through. Thanks

7. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

First, remember that what they are storing in your supers is not actually honey (if you've been feeding all along). It is sugar water. This should not be harvested as "honey".