Word origin "Super"

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by djdhays, Jan 19, 2012.

1. djdhays

djdhays New Member

I'm a six month veteran beekeeper. :D I know what a honey super is but I wonder if anyone can give me a definitive answer as to why it's called that.

2. sqkcrk

sqkcrk New Member

Check the OED for word origins.

3. Iddee

Iddee New Member

I would if I knew what OED was........

4. gunsmith

gunsmith New Member

My guess is Oxford English Dictionary.

5. Zulu

Zulu Member

The power of Latin

The word superimpose will give you the hint....

Super also means ABOVE

6. gunsmith

gunsmith New Member

What if you bottom super? :rolling:

7. Zulu

Zulu Member

There's always one........lol

Kidding !!

8. sqkcrk

sqkcrk New Member

Superimpose: to place above, as in on top of.
    Superior: someone or something above someone or something in stature.
    Supercedure: to take or be placed in an elevated position.
    Superman: above all else in strength and abilities.
    Supervisor: one who oversees

Supers, as in honey supers, are placed above the brood box(es). They are superimposed, in a manner of speaking.

That's my take on it. But, the Oxford English Dictionary would give one a more complete and accurate description of the word, its' origin(s), its' many meanings and when it was first used in print. Online versions cost something to use. A good College Library would have one or have online access to it.

Maybe more commonly held/available dictionarys would suffice.

In this Thread, you are the Super.

9. Americasbeekeeper

Americasbeekeeper New Member

10. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

welcome... for a bit more accuracy in the kinds of question you post you might wish to consider narrowing your location down just a bit.

11. Slowmodem

Slowmodem New Member

Would that be a sub super?

or, if it was better than most, it would be a super sub super! :drinks:

12. Iddee

Iddee New Member

""What if you bottom super? :rolling: ""