worms? moth larvae?

Discussion in 'Pests and Diseases' started by dejswa, Sep 17, 2010.

1. dejswa

dejswa New Member

I am fairly new to beekeeping. The hive is a about half a year old and consists of 8 frame medium brood nucs x 3 with the third one just recently added. I only recently realized that I should have been feeding them and introduced a dual sided top feeder with the floating boards on each side.

This is about the fourth filling of the feeder with 1:1 sugar water in a month. It holds 2 gallons. Last week I noticed some hive beetles hiding under the floating boards as the feeder had become dry. I realized that I probably should have kept it full since an empty feeder only adds a hiding place for intruders when it is dry. That is, the bees cannot effectively get under the slats in the boards. Unfortunately I let it run dry again. Need to fill about every 4 or 5 days, I guess. This time when I poured syrup into the feeder, these 'worms' floated out.

I removed as many as I could although some were almost microscopic. I certainly left some. I cooked the float boards in the oven for about 10 minutes as they were were really thick with the worms. I refilled the feeder. I did not check the nuc below the feeder as I had spent so much time with the top open already. Now I'm thinking I should have just removed the feeder and sterilized it entirely.

I think maybe these are moth larvae. I am worried about the nuc below the feeder because it is new and sparsely populated and I read that moths like unprotected areas. The rest of the hive is pretty healthy however.

Any ideas on what I should do next?

[​IMG]

2. G3farms

G3farms New Member

If the nuc below it was just foundation then there is not much to worry about, If brood, pollen or honey is/has been in the drawn comb then you definitely need to look.