Yellow Jacket Traps

Discussion in 'Pests and Diseases' started by Slowmodem, Feb 29, 2012.

1. Slowmodem

Slowmodem New Member

Temperatures are in the 70s, the leaves are turning green, the bees are buzzing, the birds are chirping, etc,. etc., etc.

I want to get an early start with yellow jacket traps and get them out when the queens start flying.

I know there are experienced experts here, and I'd love to tap that knowledge. I know from reading that it takes about a week for a 2-litre soda bottle trap to "ripen" to be ready for the yellow jackets. What I'm wondering is when is it time to put them out? Seems to me if all the other bugs are flying, the yellow jackets are probably thinking about it, too.

2. Intheswamp

Intheswamp New Member

I'm just a newbie so I hope you don't mind my input.

My intent was to get my traps out early to catch the queens. Only problem is that as mild as the winter was I don't think the yellow jackets ever quit flying down here. I had them working a camellia bush back in January and saw a few flying low prior to the camellia blooming. I've had traps out since January and are catching just a few all along.

I'd say go ahead and put them out.

Ed

3. kebee

kebee Active Member

In you 2 liter bottle trap for yellow jackets I know you put kitty kat fiah flavor food but do you put anything else in there to kill them. I have quite a few here and I am tired of getting stung by them and I want to put out a bunch of traps. Oh yes do you hang the traps up off the ground. Thanks.

Kebee

4. Slowmodem

Slowmodem New Member

5. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Did you put a link to us over there with a recommendation, also.

6. Intheswamp

Intheswamp New Member

Kebee, I thought I had posted a reply but I guess I didn't press the right (or left) button. ;)