Yellow jackets robbing ?

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by tcchris, Sep 28, 2010.

1. tcchris

tcchris New Member

Hi
    We are having quite a season for yellow jackets this year . They are everywhere .
    This is my first year beekeeping , I have a weak hive , only about six frames built out .
    Today I saw a yellow jacket walking around on the landing , then he walked in the hive without any objections . Both of my hives have been very busy bringing in pollen and nectar lately , goldenrod I guess .
    I opened the weak hive to see good brood pattern , but very little pollen and what little honey present was uncapped . About a month ago , this hive had some capped honey . Could the yellow jackets be robbing , or have they just used there stores . I began feeding today , because they have no stores .

2. G3farms

G3farms New Member

I would say they used up the honey to get the brood to where it is now. You will need to feed feed feed to get them through the winter.

3. tcchris

tcchris New Member

Thanks , the yellow jacket worried me because they just let him in

4. Bitty Bee

Bitty Bee New Member

Yellow jackets will gladly rob a weak hive.

You might want to consider combining the two. They would be much stronger that way, more able to defend themselves, and stand a much better chance of surviving the winter. Then you could increase them early next spring.

It might be wise to put a couple entrance reducers on your hives, too. A weak hive can't always guard all of their entrance so reducing the size of the entrance helps the bees keep better tabs an who comes in and who doesn't.

We have had yellow jacket problems in the past. We learned that the best way to avoid them is to make sure all hives are very strong at all times.

5. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

so baby beek I assume by what you wrote in post #4 that you have had serious enough problem with yellow jackets in the past to cause some 'significant' damage? or is it a matter of worry?