yes, I have varroa.

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Buzzen, May 12, 2012.

1. Buzzen

Buzzen Member

I went into my hives today, was going to split the big one. The queen cups haven't been drawn out and are still empty so i will wait on that for a bit. I tore open some drone comb that was between the frames when I removed them, and there they were, Varroa. Ugly little buggers.

022.jpg 020.jpg 021.jpg

Since i am new at this, what are my options at this time? I do have some Apistan, but I am hesitant to use it.Dont know if i want to use something that harsh. I haven't seen any on the bees but I'm sure they are there, my eyes aren't that good. These are 2nd year hives with no treatment last year. Any opinions?

2. heinleinfan

heinleinfan New Member

Hi Buzzen,
    I know many folks here have a lot more experience than I, but I have had success with mite control using powdered sugar dusting and a homemade sticky board with a screened bottom board. I prefer organic keeping myself, and do not like the idea of having to chemically treat.

If you've not read about that it goes like so:
    -I have a screened bottom board directly under the hive, with a solid bottom board under that and so I have space between the screen and the bottom of the hive for sliding in a sticky board.
    -Sticky boards are pieces of heavy stock cardboard paper that are literally sticky, it's covered with a kind of glue like you'd find on the back of a label. I myself use an old poster holder that is the right size and shape to fit in my hive, and is a thin plastic so it can be reused and I make it sticky by spreading on a very thin layer of vegetable oil on it.
    -I get powdered sugar, and look for the highest quality brand I can find, or get some at a natural store, I want to try to find one that does not have cornstarch in it if possible. (If you can't, then it's okay to use it sparingly.)